My God Splits Moons

Did you know that Einstein went to the moon and discovered that at some point it had been split in half? Afterwards he exclaimed, “I must find the religion in which the moon was split in half!” He discovered it was Islam, converted instantly, and lived happily ever after!

At least, so one of my friends told me in a very sincere tone. Granted, her English isn’t perfect and we already had her fairly confused. I hope she realizes that Einstein didn’t really go to the moon.

We didn’t try to argue with her. What she really wanted to know is: “Mohammed got God to split the moon. Did your Jesus do anything that left evidence?” A sort of ‘my dad’s taller than your dad’ view of theology. At first we found her question discouraging. After all, Jesus never split the moon. (As if creating it in the first place wasn’t enough.) But the more the other girls and I thought about it, the more we realized that our God doesn’t need to split moons. Our God is a personal God. He’s never flashy unless He needs to be. Splitting the moon serves no purpose. When Jesus was on earth He proved His deity and His mission by helping people, by healing and comforting, not by flexing His godly muscles. Now that He’s gone He proves Himself the same way. Jesus proves Himself by taking drug-dealers and race car drivers and molding them into preachers and servants. He takes recluses and makes them missionaries. He turns wretches into His children.

If Islam did that then I wouldn’t have to shut my ears to the catcalls and comments of the men here. I wouldn’t have to count my change every time I bought something. I wouldn’t be afraid to walk by myself through the city at night. I wouldn’t have to the cringe a little every September the 11th. And everyone here is a Muslim so if Islam changes lives like Christianity changes lives, there would be no War and everyone would want to live in the Middle East.

Her prophet Mohammed may have gotten God to split the moon. But my Jesus is the God that changes hearts.

Go with God
–Mira


One response to “My God Splits Moons

Leave a comment